Coherence of Data and Code. Is it a mistake?

Just a brief reflection on something that has puzzled me for quite a while now.

I learned programming the old way, Basic, Assembler, Pascal, Modula-2, C and then C++ that’s my path. Except for C++ (with which I have been stuck for 20 years or so) the principle of keeping data and code together wasn’t really a topic. In fact, there was little that forced you to keep them together until C++ became popular.

Today, it’s a religious dogma. You must keep the data and the code together in a class. Don’t make your data elements public, then anybody can access them! Implement accessor functions instead. Nobody doubt’s this these days, but I have run into situations where this dogma is literally holding me back. Let me explain.

Making client server games the old fashioned way (meaning with a dedicated client application, not a web browser) provides you with the following challenge: Oftentimes you have to define data that is to be used on the client and the server. But of course, the code won’t fit. the code that access the data on the server often has references to other objects or code that only exists on the server and therefore can not be compiled or linked with the client, and vice versa.

So in my previous game I used the #ifdef statement extensively to make those classes compile one way on the server and another way on the client. This is of course a terrible crutch.

In my current game I came up with the solution to have a shared link library that holds the data. Then I add classes on the client and the server which have this data structure as a private member and then provide the separate access and computation routines for the client and the server.

But this simply tells me that the dogmatic “unity of code and data” is nothing that is natural. I am sure there are other example where code and data should be separate.

Currently there is no good solution, but I just want to submit as a suggestion that the religious view that code and data are inseparable may be false.

